

Office of Inspector General Jefferson Parish

DAVID N. MCCLINTOCK INSPECTOR GENERAL



09/19/2019

Mr. Daryl G. Purpera - Louisiana Legislative Auditor 1600 North 3rd St. P.O. Box 94397 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9397

RE: Complaint against Inspector General David McClintock for excessive spending Dear Legislative Auditor Purpera:

On August 21, 2019, Jefferson Parish President Michael S. Yenni appeared before the Jefferson Parish Ethics & Compliance Commission (JPECC) to complain of certain expenditures made under my authority as Jefferson Parish Inspector General (JPOIG). At that time, he announced his intention to investigate and/or that he was investigating the JPOIG.

A written complaint with attachments were received by my office on August 23, 2019. The complaint is pending before the JPECC. On September 17, 2019, I delivered to the JPECC a written response to complaint. The complaint remains under consideration by the JPECC.

However and during the Jefferson Parish Council Meeting of September 18, 2019, Parish President Yenni reiterated elements of his complaint to the Jefferson Parish Council and accused the JPOIG of violating state procurement law. Subsequently, there was public dialogue between members of the Council and representatives of the Jefferson Parish Office of Inspector General (JPOIG).

Out of a desire for complete transparency, I am referring the matter to your office. While I do not believe the JPOIG violating any procurement laws, the JPOIG will fully cooperate with any audit which the Legislative Auditor deems appropriate under its authority.

If the pending investigation by the JPECC is concluded in the interim, I will provide a copy of the disposition to your office. I may be reached at: dmcclintock@jpoig.net or via phone on 504-736-8962.

Sincerely,

David McClintock
Inspector General

avid M' Clinter

w/enclosure cc: Councilwoman Cynthia Lee-Sheng Councilman Keith Conley Councilman Ricky J. Templet

Councilman Mark Spears, Jr.

Councilwoman Jennifer Van Vrancken

Councilman Paul D. Johnston

Councilman Dominick Impastato

Parish President Michael S. Yenni

ECC Chairman Howard G. Maestri

ECC Commissioner Warren R. Bourgeois III, M.D.

ECC Commissioner Delores C. Hall

ECC Commissioner Sandra T. Joseph

ECC Commissioner Laura J. Donnaway

ECC Counsel Jerry W. Sullivan